ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Podcasts Creative Cloud

Starting work/portfolio

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Cody LereStarting work/portfolio
by on Oct 26, 2009 at 8:45:31 pm

So I'm pretty new to designing. I've been messing with web design a little and lately have been working on motion graphics in AE. I notice a lot of people who have a portfolio and/or demo reel advertise work they have done for a company. Being as I am new to this, I have not done work for anyone so I have two questions.

a) Where would I go to find some beginning work I could do for people to put into a portfolio (profitable or not) and nothing extremely complicated. Something I would be able to design and learn from.

b) Should a demo reel be made up of previous work for customers or should it be a completely new set of work strictly for the reel?

Return to posts index

David JohnsonRe: Starting work/portfolio
by on Oct 27, 2009 at 11:56:44 am

There is a lot of good info on this subject already in this and other forums on the COW and several recent ones ... try a past posts searches for words like "demo", "reel", "portfolio" etc.

Return to posts index

Dave JohnsonRe: Starting work/portfolio
by on Oct 27, 2009 at 5:55:09 pm

While looking for something else, I came across this string that has some thoughts from various people that should be helpful:

Return to posts index

Steve RobertsRe: Starting work/portfolio
by on Oct 27, 2009 at 7:53:14 pm

Adding to David & Dave's advice:

a) Don't bother. If they can't pay you, their company name would probably be meaningless on a reel. Just make up a graphic animation that looks good enough to pay for, and there's no need to include a company name. Look at the reels on motionographer and elsewhere -- not all of them show client names.