ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Very long render times perplexing me..

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Rick DaneVery long render times perplexing me..
by on Oct 16, 2009 at 5:00:22 am

I'm new to after effects / compositing and this is perplexing me. I have a few different short animated clips that I rendered in a 3D program and I have layered them together into one composite that is about 15 seconds long. I have done nothing else to them, no effects, no masks, nothing and I am now rendering it out with the best quality settings using the video for windows (with helix something encoder, I believe) and it is scheduled to take over an hour to render this tiny clip when all I want to do is simply layer them on top of each other.. I am not quite understanding this and am hoping to get suggestions from anyone if I am doing something wrong or maybe after effects isn't the program to use for simple layering? (I still use it for the effects too sometimes), I don't get how it can take longer to do a simple layering in after effects than it took to actually do the renderings in the 3D program... I would appreciate if anyone can help point me in the right direction on this.

Return to posts index

Rick DaneRe: Very long render times perplexing me..
by on Oct 16, 2009 at 5:03:04 am

Edit: actually I think that the one I was doing was a video clip about 1 minute long and for this it was looping (from interpret footage) clips that were about 10 seconds long>

Return to posts index

Todd KoprivaRe: Very long render times perplexing me..
by on Oct 16, 2009 at 4:20:29 pm

If you're ever wondering what's taking so long when an item is being rendered and exported, check out the details under the Current Render heading in the Render Queue panel. (For more information, see this page.)