ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

When to interpret footage in AE: Please help!

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Bryce McNamara
When to interpret footage in AE: Please help!
on Oct 15, 2009 at 1:31:24 am

Hi there,

I'm fairly new to After Effects and to these forums, but would really appreciate some help in clarifying this particular issue for me.

*Note the following:

- I work mainly with DV PAL footage
- The final animations are destined for broadcast

If I were working on an animation in a PAL D1/DV Comp (for instance) and I chose to incorporate DV PAL footage into this animation in whatever way (3D, applying numerous effects to the animation, etc.) would I:

1) Need to initially interpret this footage prior to animating with it?
2) Need to interpret this footage according to it's intrinsic format (ie. DV PAL, lower-field first, etc.)
3) Would I need to de-interlace this footage instead?

I want to know what the best way to handle the footage would be so that the final animation is crisp and clear, without any footage STUTTERING or field issues when viewed on a television monitor.

I would really appreciate any assistance in clarifying this issue for me!

Cheers!

Bryce
Melbourne, Australia

Return to posts index

Todd Kopriva
Re: When to interpret footage in AE: Please help!
on Oct 15, 2009 at 4:47:36 am

Here's the first and most important thing to know about footage interpretation: It's all about telling After Effects about what the characteristics of your footage are. If After Effects has guessed right, then you don't need to do anything more with footage interpretation.

For DV PAL footage, After Effects should get everything right, without manual interpretation steps.

One of the things that it will do is separate fields. This is crucial if you're going to do much of anything in After Effects with layers based on the footage.