ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

footage to big for after effects?

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Ben Johnson
footage to big for after effects?
on Oct 13, 2009 at 5:15:38 pm

Hi,

Im pretty new to after effects and im having trouble importing footage. The footage i am importing is shot in 24p SD from DVtape in my camera and is about 3gb in size. When i try importing it from my camera (panasonic dvx 100b) after effects crashes. I've tried disabling openGL and using the 'secret' purge after every 15 frames and also deleting the preference files on startup but with no luck. I import the footage using the windows import wizard when i plug in my camera.

Is 3gb to big for after effects? Would it be better to import using premiere pro? What else could be causing the crash?

I have an AMD Athlon Dual Core with 4gb ram and a ATI 2600 graphics card.

Thanks for any advice...

Ben.

Return to posts index

Dave LaRonde
Re: footage to big for after effects?
on Oct 13, 2009 at 5:31:55 pm

[Ben Johnson] "...When i try importing it from my camera (panasonic dvx 100b) after effects crashes. "

You make it sound like you're trying to capture video straight into AE. You can't do that. You have to use a different application to capture.

Dave LaRonde
Sr. Promotion Producer
KCRG-TV (ABC) Cedar Rapids, IA

Return to posts index

Kevin Camp
on Oct 13, 2009 at 5:46:11 pm

the file size shouldn't matter too much to ae... it more or less handles things frame by frame.

however codec does matter. do you know what format (avi, mov, etc.) and codec (dv, mpeg2, lossless, etc.) the clips were encoded as?

Kevin Camp
Senior Designer
KCPQ, KMYQ & KRCW

Return to posts index

Ben Johnson
on Oct 13, 2009 at 7:03:06 pm

Hi thanks for the response.

To be honest im not to sure what codec is used but its either avi or wmv. I just transferred the footage from my camera to the computer.