ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Podcasts Creative Cloud

Disney-style sparkle shower?

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Andrew VineyDisney-style sparkle shower?
by on Oct 13, 2009 at 10:43:07 am

Hello. I should warn you first that I'm a bit of a novice at After Effects, everything I know I've learned from here and Video Copilot. I don't do it professionally.

I'm trying to create a sort of shower of sparkles which shoots across the frame leaving a trail of falling glitter. The closest comparison I can think of is the Disney castle bumper at the beginning of Disney movies where an arc of glitter shoots over the castle.

I have tried using CC Particle World but the particles appear flat and don't glitter or shine. Can anyone suggest a tutorial for creating this sort of effect or offer any other advice? Maybe a variation on CC PW?

Many thanks.

Return to posts index

Dave JohnsonRe: Disney-style sparkle shower?
by on Oct 13, 2009 at 1:23:57 pm

I don't know of a specific tutorial, but have done similar effects many times ... it's been a while so I can't list play-by-play details or effect settings, but perhaps it'll be enough to say that doing it in AE requires a particle system (I prefer Trapcode Particular, but think I've done it with Particle World too) and, depending on the particle system used, some type of lighting effect is either required or helpful to make the effect really sparkle (pun intended) ... almost any Glint or Glare type lighting effect will do, but all I can think of off-hand are third-party plugins so that might not be much help since you may not have any.

Return to posts index

Jon GeddesRe: Disney-style sparkle shower?
by on Oct 13, 2009 at 2:51:53 pm

Dave is correct,

Trapcode Particular is an excellent particle system for After Effects (the best actually), however, you can achieve good results with the built-in "CC Particle World".