ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Preferred shooting method questions for

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Matt Benepe
Preferred shooting method questions for
on Oct 12, 2009 at 7:43:21 pm

So I'm going to be in charge of shooting a large amount of video on green screen. We're shooting people on green screen and comping in backgrounds...pretty stock stuff. The last time this was done, we wanted to have a "hand-held" look to the clips. The camera was locked down, and all of the effects to make it look like it was hand held were done in AF. We needed to outsource this. They used a lot of 3d cameras with blurs, etc worked in to achieve the effect. The turn around time was a little steep.

I'm still pretty new to the whole AF thing, and trying to learn. My question is would it be better to have the camera locked down again, resulting in the video needing to be outsourced (since I don't think i can handle making it look hand held at this point) or to actually shoot the footage handheld with some track points.

I know by shooting it handheld, i'm limiting myself, or creating a huge headache to try to stabilize it if anyone changes their mind about what they want, but doing it like the first shoot would result in needing the footage to be outsourced, and slow up the process.

Just wondering what everyones thoughts were

Return to posts index

Dave LaRonde
Re: Preferred shooting method questions for
on Oct 12, 2009 at 9:36:22 pm

[Matt Benepe] "My question is would it be better to have the camera locked down again, resulting in the video needing to be outsourced (since I don't think i can handle making it look hand held at this point) or to actually shoot the footage handheld with some track points"

If you're absolutely, positively, 100-percent, no-turning-back CERTAIN that you can do it hand-held with track points, you're good to go.