ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Fast editing effect

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Paul Holland
Fast editing effect
on Oct 7, 2009 at 11:41:03 pm

Hey everyone.

I'm new to Adobe After Effects and I need your help.

I'm looking to do fast editing/cutting (?) for a video so that different moving images flash over each other. I'm not quite sure of the technical name for it but I've posted a link below so you can see the effect that I am trying to achieve. The effect is in the first 10 seconds of the video (be warned; the video gets quite graphic as it goes on, although I'm sure you'll love it.)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u07F8jMH_VY

Sorry if this sounds vague, but just a general idea of what After Effects tools I'd need to use, and maybe a quick explanation of how to use them in the context of this effect, would be greatly appreciated :)

Thanks in advance

Paul

Return to posts index

Dave LaRonde
Re: Fast editing effect
on Oct 8, 2009 at 3:17:13 pm

Sorry, but the link you provided simply takes my computer to your post again. I can't see anything.

Dave LaRonde
Sr. Promotion Producer
KCRG-TV (ABC) Cedar Rapids, IA

Return to posts index

Paul Holland
on Oct 8, 2009 at 4:25:23 pm

Hi David,

Apologies for the bad link. Hopefully this works!

Regards,

Paul

Return to posts index

Dave LaRonde
on Oct 8, 2009 at 5:21:46 pm

Joey's right -- it's much easier to do this in an editing application. Since all the quick cuts are stills in your example, you can prep the still frames in Photoshop if you'd like.

Dave LaRonde
Sr. Promotion Producer

Return to posts index

Joey Burnham
on Oct 8, 2009 at 4:57:42 pm

I wouldn't suggest AE for this but it's capable. All it is is cutting 1 different frame of footage every frame from 2 different sources. Much easier in an NLE than AE.
Joey

Return to posts index

Paul Holland
on Oct 8, 2009 at 7:39:40 pm