ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

After Effect 9.0.2 freezes on doing ANYTHING. Snow Leopard? Help!

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Sara NichollsAfter Effect 9.0.2 freezes on doing ANYTHING. Snow Leopard? Help!
by on Sep 19, 2009 at 6:01:01 am

Hi there all,

I'm running an early 2008 iMac
2.4 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
3GB 667MHz DDR2 SDRAM

I recently installed Snow Leopard and since then when I try to import Illustrator files into After Effects the program freezes. It refuses to do it. It also freezes when I try to open existing projects.

I'm currently only running the trial version of 9.0.2

I completed each of the steps in this: http://kb2.adobe.com/cps/405/kb405948.html troubleshooting guide to no avail.

I'm fairly new to AE and to macs in general so please be gentle with your advice.

I've done everything short of uninstalling and reinstalling the program.. that will probably be my next step.

Anyone think this is related to Snow Leopard? I didn't think to make any kind of back-up before I installed it. Live and learn.

Thanks

Sara

Return to posts index

Sara NichollsRe: After Effect 9.0.2 freezes on doing ANYTHING. Snow Leopard? Help!
by on Sep 19, 2009 at 7:23:34 am

Uninstalled and reinstalled and it almost seems worse.

How I hate the colour wheel of doom. Ugh.

Return to posts index

Brian DeViteriRe: After Effect 9.0.2 freezes on doing ANYTHING. Snow Leopard? Help!
by on Sep 19, 2009 at 8:55:43 pm

I will ask the proverbial questions that will be needed to help out...

System & Specs
RAM
OS Version
Quicktime Version
Plug-ins?
Codecs of footage used

Does this happen on AE startup, or while working on projects?

Does this happen when loading a particular plug-in? (I've heard some plug-ins are not 10.6.x ready and need to be updated...)

When you did the Snow Leopard upgrade, did you "upgrade" or did you do a "clean install"?