ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

AE Renders appear choppy/sluggish

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Taylor Harris
AE Renders appear choppy/sluggish
on Aug 27, 2009 at 4:39:55 am

Hello- I'm a novice at AE, as I use it for fun not professionally. I'll start by saying I've googled my problem and read a dozen threads about similar problems, and I do not believe my situation to be an issue of the speed of my computer vs the data rate required for live preview etc. I'm dealing with small video files, and the issues I'm having are regarding the rendered output not the preview within AE.

That said, here's the problem: I begin with source.mov video file, which plays perfectly when viewed in quicktime. I import this file into AE CS3 via the file menu. I drag-and-drop the video file form the project pane onto the new composition button, resulting in a comp called "source". Quicktime and AE both identify the FPS for this video to be 23.976, and the composition settings tell me that my comp is the same.

For diagnostic purposes, I'm not making any alterations to the video at this point- just rendering it as is. In the render settings dialogue, I tell it to "use this comp's framerate", quality= best, resolution= full. I set the video format to Quicktime, Animation format with quality set to 100. Every time I render this video file (or different, related files), the resulting file appears choppy. For example, instead of it playing frames in sequential order like 1,2,3,4,5,6, it seems to be playing 1,1,3,3,5,5. I have advanced through the video frame by frame to verify the video was rendered this way and not just slow playback. The video I have been trouble shooting with is only a few seconds long and 1 or 2 megs after all.