ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Podcasts Creative Cloud

Cloning using motion track.

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Robert CoppaCloning using motion track.
by on Aug 23, 2009 at 12:40:25 am

Hello gurus
I am fairly new to AE, using AE CS4 and am trying to cleanup footage of 3 light reflections against a wall. The footage scrolls up as the camera pans so i need to be able to track the light source and apply that data to the cloning. I have been able to track the light source fine, but am not able to figure out how to use this tracked data with the clone tool. Do i need a null object? i tried parenting the null object to the layer with the clones ( actual footage ) and nothing happens.

Any help and guidance would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks in advance

Return to posts index

Simon BonnerRe: Cloning using motion track.
by on Aug 23, 2009 at 4:12:30 am

If you applied the tracking data to the null, you need to parent the new layer to the null, not the null to the new layer. Layers follow their parents, not vice versa. It's hard to know if this will solve your problem from what you've said, but hopefully it'll do the trick.

Simon Bonner

Return to posts index

Stuart ElithRe: Cloning using motion track.
by on Aug 24, 2009 at 1:45:14 am

You don't actually need to apply the tracking data to a null (though you can if you want). I prefer not to, as it keeps one less layer in the timeline and I don't delete my original tracking markers after I use them, so i can just access them in the original footage.

So what I do is this :

1. Track the feature.