ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Super wide video wall

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Leonidas Savvides
Super wide video wall
on Aug 20, 2009 at 1:26:13 pm

Hello After effects people !

I've been in the advertising field for almost 12 years now, and oddly enough i just got my first Digital Signage project 3 weeks ago.. so i'm relatively new to this.

So..here's the rub..
I have 128 vertical 42 inch screens in a row.. that's 16 groups, of 8 screens on each group. Every group of 8, has a player assigned to them.
Now.. i want to create a visual with a city skyline on the background, and some people walking from one end to the other ( left to right and vice versa ) . This visual has to be continuous starting from screen number one and ending on screen number 128.
Should i create 16 seamless videos for each group and then synchronize the players?
Thank you in advance,
Leo

Return to posts index

Walter Soyka
Re: Super wide video wall
on Aug 20, 2009 at 3:29:52 pm

Hi Leo,

What resolution must you output to in order to drive the displays, and what will the positioning of the screens be like?

When doing widescreen, I always backtrack to my pixel space from the physical display and its resolution.

Don\'t forget to account for the negative space between displays.

Walter Soyka, Principal
Keen Live, Inc.
Presentation, Motion Graphics & Widescreen Design
RenderBreak: A Blog on Innovation in Production

Return to posts index

Filip Vandueren
on Aug 22, 2009 at 2:06:58 pm

Also, how are you going to split 1 player between 8 different outputs ?
Are these DVD or BLuRay players or Macmini's ?

Return to posts index

Guillem Ventura
on Aug 24, 2009 at 4:57:07 pm

I've been asked a pretty similar thing: