ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Advice, Please: Make a Building Change Color?

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Phil McCartyAdvice, Please: Make a Building Change Color?
by on Aug 18, 2009 at 8:23:38 pm

Hi, I am trying to find a way to make a stationary shot of a building change color, gradually (say, 3 seconds.)

My initial thought is effective but bland, to overlay a copy, and roto out the building, and then make it green, and then do a wipe from one end to the other.

I am new to this, and am wondering if anyone has an ideas on how to "jazz it up", maybe by doing something cool/funky at the edges? Or some sort of pixelation or .. I'm not sure. Is there a tutorial out there which might teach some translatable skills?

Thanks,
Phil

Return to posts index

Michael SzalapskiRe: Advice, Please: Make a Building Change Color?
by on Aug 19, 2009 at 1:01:31 am

Your initial thought (to have a copy of the building on a separate layer) is a great way to start. How you reveal the new color on the other hand... There are literally thousands of different things that the people on this forum could suggest. What is supposed to be causing the building to change color? The motivation could suggest a solution.

- The Great Szalam
(The 'Great' stands for 'Not So Great, in fact, Extremely Humble')

No trees were harmed in the creation of this message, but several thousand electrons were mildly inconvenienced.

Return to posts index

Phil McCartyRe: Advice, Please: Make a Building Change Color?
by on Aug 20, 2009 at 11:05:16 pm

Ooh, somehow I didn't get the notification that you'd responded:

Well, there's a person running through the scene, from various angles. Towards the camera, away from the camera. And I'd like the "spread" to happen as he goes through, or shortly thereafter.

Phil

Here's a sample shot:
Runner

Return to posts index