ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Keying a wedding veil

COW Forums : Video Copilot

VIEW ALL   •   PRINT
Adam Henderson
Keying a wedding veil
on Jul 3, 2009 at 2:10:35 pm

Hi guys. I had posted this question earlier and I thought I'd got it sorted by using the Remove Grain effect but I guess it was my 4am bleary eyes seeing what they wanted to see.

I've still got unacceptable levels of noise flickering in the veil's semi-opaque areas and I'm wondering if anyone has any advice on how to properly key a wedding veil, instead of me just fumbling around with it. It's costing me so much time and I'm ready to chalk it up to a lost cause but I only see good things if I can pull this effect off.

Any help is greatly appreciated, you've no idea how much.

Return to posts index

Michael Szalapski
A couple of clarifying questions...
on Jul 3, 2009 at 6:59:38 pm

I'm no keying expert, but I know there are some questions that are going to be asked by those who would answer you.
How well lit is your green screen? Do you have an example pic or footage clip so we can actually see with what you're dealing? How was the footage filmed? Is it on film, actual honest-to-goodness HD, HDV, DV, Beta, VHS?

The answers to these questions along with an example clip or pic should help get you the answer you need.

- The Great Szalam
(The 'Great' stands for 'Not So Great, in fact, Extremely Humble')

No trees were harmed in the creation of this message, but several thousand electrons were mildly inconvenienced.

Return to posts index

Adam Henderson
Re: A couple of clarifying questions...
on Jul 4, 2009 at 9:02:08 am

Hello Michael :)

The answers to those questions are:

The green screen was (I guess) pro grade. It was grey until it was illuminated by a ring of green LEDs mounted around the camera lens so I don't think it could have been lit any better.

I've got a screenshot here: