ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Adding color to grayscale in real time.

COW Forums : Video Copilot

VIEW ALL   •   PRINT
Justin Sharick
Adding color to grayscale in real time.
on Jan 28, 2009 at 6:21:21 pm

Hey everyone,

I have an idea for a music video that my friend and I are thinking about making and I was wondering if anyone could give me a head start on how to do a certain effect I have in mind. I'm a bit new to video editing, especially with After Effects, so please keep that in mind. But anyways, my idea is:

I wanted to have the beginning of the video completely in gray scale, and then have my friend "paint" it into color. For example, if he were walking down a street, have the real color "bloom" from his footprints. I was considering looking into Video Copilot's Evolution DVD because I love their flourishes, but I only wanna get it if I know I can make this work. Again, since I'm new to this I don't want to spend any more money until I can learn the in's and out's of what I'm dealing with. Another idea, for example, would be to have him literally painting color onto a scene with a paint brush/roller/bucket.

Is there any way to accomplish these effects or am I in way over my head?

Thanks for your time and help!

Return to posts index

david bogie
Re: Adding color to grayscale in real time.
on Jan 28, 2009 at 7:17:32 pm

Your approach depends on your ability to use After Effects multiplied by your budget and divided by your ability to plan your shooting so you end up with footage to which you can apply your proposed effects. This requires that you know what you're talking about and that you can communicate it to your performers and your photographer.

Spend a few hours investigating the "Pleasantville Effect" and then decide if that's what you want to do.
Spend a few hours investigating "rotoscoping" and decide if that's something you'd like to try.
these investigations will lead you to several other viable approaches.