ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Alpha and Luma Matte problem

COW Forums : Video Copilot

VIEW ALL   •   PRINT
Dustin Milner
Alpha and Luma Matte problem
on Nov 3, 2008 at 9:05:52 am

Hey guys,
Im currently trying to Alpha Matte some clouds into a static shot of a car pulling over for a short film using adobe after effects cs3.
Ive set up an image of some clouds to alpha matte through a duplicate layer thats above it.
The matte works but it places odd blue lines across the clouds.
I tried changing the blending mode and am able to get rid of it but the blending mode i want is the one that has the lines over it.
Any advice?
Cheers,
Dustin
(P.S im only a beginner with after effects so sorry if this is a really stupid question)

Return to posts index

Paul Conigliaro
Re: Alpha and Luma Matte problem
on Nov 3, 2008 at 2:19:24 pm

It sounds like it might just be a slightly off workflow. (Forgive me if it sounds like I'm talking down to you, but I'm not sure how much knowledge you have of AE.)

Remember that an alpha or luma matte must be applied like this:
1. Clouds
2. Car Shot -> Luma Matte

That is, your clouds are being used as an alpha channel for the car layer below. When setting this, your cloud layer should immediately turn off so it is no longer visible. Any blending mode should be applied to the car shot, not the cloud layer.

It sounds like you might have set the luma matte right, but then turned the cloud layer back on and applied the blending mode to that. If the clouds aren't quite working right as an alpha, you can apply a levels or curves effect to adjust the blacks and whites.

Does this help at all?

Return to posts index

Dustin Milner
on Nov 4, 2008 at 3:09:23 am

Hey Mate,
Yeah your right thats exactly what i had done wrong.
I set the blending mode to the wrong layer and had it switched on...duh.