ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Day Rate???

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Gollux
Day Rate???
on Jun 22, 2007 at 9:12:06 pm

I am new to freelancing in After Effects in the boston area. I am an experienced user. I am planning on updating my system to an 8 Core 8 gig Mac System when the new AE is released. Could anyone advise as to what day rates are these days. Don't want to price myself out of a job, but don't want to charge to little. Any advice much appreciated.

Thanks,

This may not be the correct forum. Pardon if not.

I'm only half the thing I say I am, the other half are me.

Return to posts index

Steve Roberts
Re: Day Rate???
on Jun 22, 2007 at 11:05:20 pm

Check the Business COW and the Broadcast Design COW. Search for "rates", that sort of thing.

Return to posts index

beenyweenies
on Jun 23, 2007 at 2:05:34 am

Needless to say, that completely depends on your skill set. I am a Creative Director/owner of a studio in the San Francisco area, and I base the rates I pay on three tiers of skill level (entry-level to pro), with entry level paying $35/hr. or so, and pro level paying $50-$60/hr. I'm sure rates here are different than Boston, but that may help.

As an aside, when contractors are working from home I have never factored their rig into the rate, and to date no one has asked me to. I don't really care if you have a 32-core mainframe, as long as you can deliver quality work. Having a lot of processing power doesn't necessarily mean you will finish faster, better or be free of the risk of losing data etc... Another part of this issue is that having contractors work from home adds a LOT of extra work for me and the producer, so it's a bit of a wash.

Return to posts index

Budrick21
on Jun 24, 2007 at 1:12:05 am

Beenyweenies -