ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

keying help with orange and yellow background

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
ktpmm5
keying help with orange and yellow background
on Feb 5, 2007 at 1:06:29 pm

I have some footage of someone talking with a yellow and orange wall behind him(top half is yellow, bottom half orange). None of the keying methods I am using seem to be working - Keylight, etc. Short of masking him out - which is what I'm doing right now - is there any way to get rid of a yellow and orange background? When I use Keylight and select the background, his face disappears because of the similar tone. I am a newbie to the art of keying out and wondering if there is an easier way... thanks!

Return to posts index

TClark
Re: keying help with orange and yellow background
on Feb 5, 2007 at 2:28:43 pm

Try using replace color.

Return to posts index

daveyg
on Feb 5, 2007 at 2:58:20 pm

yeah thasts why blue or green are the best. use one of the tutorial by aahron from this site to get a good key. look it up it helps out a lot

Return to posts index

ktpmm5
on Feb 5, 2007 at 4:08:52 pm

replace color? is that a plug-in? i've got the pro bundle of ae 6.5....

Return to posts index

Sando Calrissian
on Feb 5, 2007 at 5:25:35 pm

Is the subjects head moving much?

If its nearly stationary you can duplicate your footage layer and draw a rough mask around the centre of your subjects face (this is where the majority of highlights occur - and the colour will become way similar to your orange/yellow BG). Then place this unkeyed version over your keyed version. Then tweak the key on the lower layer.