ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Need to find plugins/techniques to recreate my magic system in After Effects

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Kristhian Aguilar
Need to find plugins/techniques to recreate my magic system in After Effects
on Jul 21, 2020 at 9:15:41 pm

Hi guys. This is my first time posting, but i'll try to stay concise

For the last 5 days, I've tried recreating my magic system in After Effects in order to make a guide explaining how it works. Because understanding the aestethics of my magic is important to this topic, i'll quickly talk about it:

The Logos is the art of drawing 3D objects using dots and lines. Pretty simple right? Well, here are some rules about the drawing:
1. First, you need to have a bunch of small, blue, semitransparent circles called Logya.
2. Then, you can connect the dots with blue lines, which is what allows object creation.
3. Every time you form a closed shape, a solid semitransparent layer forms. This lets the user create solid items like swords and shields.

In my guide i want to show off the two ways my magic system can look (a sword and a bunch of particles moving around), but i've had varying degrees of success on each. After a bit of googling, I found a plugin called Trapcode Particular that perfectly suited my needs for creating the particles and this is what i managed to create with it:

Unfortunately, i didn't have the same luck with the sword. My friend drew a sword for me to base myself, but as you'll see i wasn't able to replicate the desired effect.

I found a plugin named Plexus] that excels in creating dot and line graphics, but one of the problems i found was that it lacked flexibility, seeing that i couldn't chose which lines connected to which dots or where i wanted the dots to spawn.