ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Problems with AE Compression on some nested comps

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Allen Crafts
Problems with AE Compression on some nested comps
on Jun 21, 2020 at 7:34:12 pm

Hi, first time poster here.

I've been using After Effects for a while, but I am largely self-taught, so there is probably something obvious that I am missing.

I am currently working on animating a 20 second short. I have multiple layers of precomps, and have done this many times before without issue. I am working from drawings that I have scanned in and altered in photoshop so I can move individual pieces in ae. I did this for my first draft without a problem.

I'm in the process of working on the second draft, and have scanned in new elements to use. This time, I am having an issue where these elements have what I think is maybe a compression problem, so I'm getting these darkened stripes in these elements. This is only happening to these new comps, so when they're compiled with the others they stand out very badly. They are also losing quality in the texture.

As far as I know, I haven't done anything different when importing and composing the comp. The only difference I can see is that the composition has a slightly different size ratio, but that is just because the elements are different sizes. I've been looking around online, but haven't been able to find anything similar. If anyone has ANY suggestions, they would be greatly appreciated.

Return to posts index

Filip Vandueren
Re: Problems with AE Compression on some nested comps
on Jun 22, 2020 at 9:12:03 am

Any chance for a screenshot ?

Return to posts index

Allen Crafts
on Jun 27, 2020 at 5:27:34 pm

Hi!

Here is a screenshot.

Return to posts index

Filip Vandueren
on Jun 27, 2020 at 5:41:55 pm

Looks like a moiré pattern problem.