ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Two spheres orbiting around and gravitating towards each other face-to-face + Camera moving from side to front = Cannot achieve both correct rotation and 3D illusion together as something always gets disrupted

COW Forums : Video Copilot

VIEW ALL   •   PRINT
Tsovinar Martirosyan
Two spheres orbiting around and gravitating towards each other face-to-face + Camera moving from side to front = Cannot achieve both correct rotation and 3D illusion together as something always gets disrupted
on Mar 29, 2020 at 7:16:28 pm

Dear community members,

I am new to After Effects (and animation in general). However, prior to composing this post I've consulted with a professional animator friend who constantly works with After Effects and she didn't know how to solve my problem, so I am quite desperate.

I've created two approaching spheres that orbit around each other with increasing velocity and while continuously facing and eventually melting into each other. It consists of a simple rotating null layer.
I need a swift camera movement from the side of the scene to the front. This creates a problem as the spheres are not actually 3D.

It seems that the two effects I'm trying to achieve (rotating spheres that face each other + moving camera from side to front in 3D space) are not easily compatible.

Auto-orienting the spheres towards the camera gives a 3D illusion but creates a new problem as it makes the spheres not face each other anymore.
It would be a painstaking process to rotate the spheres manually for every frame for so many rotations at different speed levels and I imagine there would be a clever way to solve this problem.
I've tried Dan Ebberts's technique (https://forums.creativecow.net/docs/forums/post.php?forumid=227&postid=8045&univpostid=8045&pview=t) but this also overrides the "towards-the-center-facedness" of the spinning spheres I would like to maintain.