ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Use a video layer like a shape mask for an effect

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Ht Davis
Use a video layer like a shape mask for an effect
on Oct 13, 2019 at 2:24:53 am

Ok, I'm a novice at AE, but I'm decent with photoshop. I have an effect I use often to add clarity and even depth when the image is a bit flat. I essentially use the "create a sketch" effect to detect the edge detail, then adjust the detail to what I want to effect, and then turn it black and white. I then select all the grey and black areas with the color selection algorithm, and create a selection mask channel from it. I add adjustment layers that darken some areas at the edge and transition areas to "sharpen" the focus there, I then invert the mask and apply a light blur everywhere else, but I use the burn dodge tools to adjust the mask so the blur fills more as the depth goes further out, it creates an almost creepy bit of depth, and done right, it is a big seller. It can even work some magic on less than perfect focus.
Here's my problem, I'm great at photoshop, terrible at AE. I would like to use a video or precomp layer like a mask. I can get the edge detail and sort it out so that I have the detail in a masklike black and white, but I cannot use it like a mask. I can apply the appropriate blend modes, but I cannot selectively apply it. Is there an opperation that would allow me to do so? If not, I suppose the only option would be to create a black shape alpha, fill it with white, and have my video layer apply that way, using a blend mode, correct?
I may try this with an output of the sketchmask to a folder of images so I can make adjustments, then I'll apply all the images as a video layer and go from there. I'd rather be able to mask this in straight out, but I can work with a shape if I must.

Return to posts index

Steve Bentley