need to fix the sky

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Dorian Weber
need to fix the sky
on Jun 27, 2019 at 4:56:13 am

Hi Guys,

I am stuck again..!
I have a footage with a dolly shot of tulips. Unfortunately there was a gray sky and quite overexposed. I would like to get a nice blue sky with or without some clouds in it to contrast the yellow tulips.
I am a true beginner in AE . (I know some PR, but as far as I understand, this could only be fixed in AE because of the Motion). Can somebody point me to video tutorial which is not to hard to follow?
I have seen loads of tutorials but the sky the foreground did not move as my tulips.

Many thanks in Advance.

Dorian

Return to posts index

Martin Brennand
Re: need to fix the sky
on Jun 27, 2019 at 6:35:13 am

It depends on the motion:

1. Is any part of the sky have texture detail in the clouds or is it too overexposed?
2. Is there any middle-ground scenery such as mountains?
3. Are the flowers moving a lot or are they stationary?

You can do sky replacment a number of ways (keying, rotoscoping etc) but for a dolly, you're going to need a trackable background to make sure the sky solidly follows the movement of the camera.

Martin Brennand | Product Manager | Mocha - Boris FX (Imagineer Systems)

Return to posts index

Dorian Weber
on Jun 27, 2019 at 7:31:37 am

Hi Martin,

1. there are a little clouds still visible.
2. there are high rising buildings around
3. the flowers actually do not move (or hardly) but the dolly moves (slow) from left to right across

Return to posts index

Jim Arco
on Jun 27, 2019 at 11:41:17 am

You might want to try keying on the luminance of the overexposed sky. Then replace it with footage of a 'prettier' sky. You could probably even do that in Premiere.

Jim

Return to posts index

Dorian Weber
on Jun 27, 2019 at 12:46:08 pm

But the problem is, the tulips move across the background sky.