ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Screen Replicement Issue

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Adam Harper
Screen Replicement Issue
on Jun 6, 2018 at 6:04:05 pm

Hi all, AE newbie here.

So I'm working on a shot which requires some screen replacement and I'm definitely running into an issue with the tracking and possibly making mistakes elsewhere. I've provided a couple of screenshots to give some context.

The shot starts at 'Screenshot 1' and ends at 'Screenshot 2'. As you can see the screen starts off out of frame and out of focus then comes fully into frame and in focus. I've tried tracking with the "Position" and "Rotation" boxes ticked with a "Transform" track type and tried tracking with the "Perspective Corner Pin". The tracking seems to work fine when it's all on screen but the second one of the tracking points goes off screen, it starts failing. When it starts going out of focus, it really starts going all over the place. I've wanted to try using Mocha but it doesn't seem to recognise the file format of the footage. Is there a way to make sure the tracking points stays where it's meant to?

I'll describe what I'm doing the rest of the time just in case I'm messing up elsewhere or could be doing it in a way that makes it easier. "Screenshot 3" shows what's happening when I attempt to put all the elements together.

After the tracking I'll then create a Null Object, then select it in the "Edit Target" menu and hit apply. Then I add the footage that's meant to be on the screen, use the Corner Pin to match it up with the screen, create a pre-composition then parent the footage with the Null object.