ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Losing roto brush detail with soft matte

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Jason Novak
Losing roto brush detail with soft matte
on Jan 27, 2017 at 7:05:53 pm

Hey, I'm new to After Effects and am removing white backgrounds from some videos, and I'm running into an issue. I've tried a couple of techniques, usually I can use extract to get close, with a soft matte to clean up the edges, and sometimes using a duplicated layer and mask when some details like teeth are lost.

I have one video that's being extra difficult so I roto brushed it. However when I started to refine the edges but because of the hair line it's difficult, and I'm seeing some weirdness with it looking like things are flickering/wavy. So I applied a soft matte like before (turning off refine edges in roto brush), and that does a pretty good job, however some of the spots under the persons arms that open up as they move around and it loses what I've rotoed out.

I tried duplicating the layer and adding a mask for just that part of the body but have issues with needing refine edges for the roto, not for the soft matte and apply double-effects. I could try manually erasing those parts of the matte, but also looks a bit off. Played around with the radius and that helps, but matte isn't good around the hair then.

Any suggestions on a simple fix for this - need a setting like soft matte please respect holes cut into the main foreground and don't fill them back in ☺

Return to posts index

Dave LaRonde
Re: Losing roto brush detail with soft matte
on Jan 27, 2017 at 9:06:47 pm

I hate to say it, but that's why God made green screens and chroma keyers.....

Dave LaRonde
Promotion Producer
KGAN (CBS) & KFXA (Fox) Cedar Rapids, IA

Return to posts index

Roei Tzoref
on Jan 27, 2017 at 11:01:28 pm