ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Duik Bones Creating Broken Expression

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Jimmy Mitchell
Duik Bones Creating Broken Expression
on Sep 28, 2016 at 2:27:22 pm

I'm new to Duik but wanted to use it for a character rig for a client. I created a character in illustrator and brought it into after effects. I put three pins in my arm (shoulder, elbow, hand) and rename the pins to correspond to the point. When I select the layer and hit the Bones tool in Duik, I get an error on all 3 expressions. This only happens if I rename the pins but it is kind of necessary to keep my project from becoming a total confusing mess.

Error reads: After Effects warning: Expression Disabled. Error at line 1 in property 'Position' of layer 10 ('Front Arm) in comp 'Politician'. Unterminated string constant.

Here's the expression it created:
bonePos = thisComp.layer("B_
hand L").toWorld(thisComp.layer("B_
hand L").anchorPoint);
fromWorld(bonePos)

Return to posts index

Dave LaRonde
Re: Duik Bones Creating Broken Expression
on Sep 28, 2016 at 4:42:32 pm

What happens if you convert it to a Photoshop document? I'm thinkin' the vectors are messing things up -- no specific & consistent x-y coordinates.

Dave LaRonde
Promotion Producer
KGAN (CBS) & KFXA (Fox) Cedar Rapids, IA

Return to posts index

Carrie Hawks
on Sep 29, 2016 at 3:31:17 am

Try renaming the layers inside of Duik. I think there's an option to do so in the interface. If you rename them yourself manually, this will create an error.

Return to posts index

Fredrik Ã…kerlund
on Sep 29, 2016 at 6:54:01 pm

First of all: this

hand L").anchorPoint);

Should be

hand L").anchorPoint;

There shouldn't be a parenthesis at the end. Right?

Return to posts index

Xavier Bonet
on Oct 14, 2017 at 1:06:41 pm