ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Is motion v2 cheating for a noob

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Alonzo GutierrezIs motion v2 cheating for a noob
by on Sep 21, 2016 at 1:49:58 am

Hello,

So I am new to motion graphics. I have a degree in graphic design, but only got taught small animation using flash. Which was fun. Now I'm getting into after effects (should have long ago) and I'm having even more fun.
I'm watching tutorials, coming here to read posts, thanks by the way for the help, and reading books.

I feel like I'm coming along pretty well, and knowing other apps like illustrator, Photoshop, and premiere help out a lot.

My question is this:

Is buying and using motion v2 considered cheating? Am I cheating myself out of learning valuable skills in after effects? Like maybe some techniques I should know how to do the long or hard way, before using a plug in? Or do I not fully understand what motion v2 is?

I don't want to cheat myself out of learning these things because I feel like I need the solid foundation on how and why it needs to be a certain way, before going on. And I feel if that plug in lets me instantly create a burst effect, I would get to comfortable and not even care to learn how to actually do it.

Or am I cheating myself here, by not using motion v2, and just making things simpler and easier on myself?

Any thoughts or advice on this subject would really help ease my mind. Thanks to all.

Return to posts index

Tero AhlforsRe: Is motion v2 cheating for a noob
by on Sep 21, 2016 at 4:58:08 am

[Alonzo Gutierrez] "Is buying and using motion v2 considered cheating?"

No. If it helps you do what you want/need to do faster and easier then go for it. However you might be doing work on a computer that doesn't have that particular plug in or you'll need to manually fix something so you should learn the basic tools.

Return to posts index