ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Multiple Alpha Mattes to Create Checkerboard-type Pattern

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Alex DickmannMultiple Alpha Mattes to Create Checkerboard-type Pattern
by on Sep 18, 2016 at 9:46:39 am

I am trying to recreate an image of sacred geometry from a tattoo (image attached) in After Effects, and the part that is stumping me is filling every other space with a gradient. I've included what I have so far - a bunch of shape layers with a white stroke and no fill. These triangles also rotate before resting at it's current state, so I can't just create some gradient shape layers in the designated spaces. I'm relatively new to track mattes, so I'm sure it's an easy solution.

Thanks!

Return to posts index

Kalleheikki KannistoRe: Multiple Alpha Mattes to Create Checkerboard-type Pattern
by on Sep 18, 2016 at 10:56:35 am

The easy solution is to create the needed shapes in Illustrator with the pathfinder tools, which allow you to create individual shapes from each of the triangles with the click of a button. Doing the same in After Effects, you'd need to draw a new mask for each shape you want to fill with gradients. Either way, you'll end up with a bunch of layers with individual triangles with a gradient ramp effect.

The other option is to draw the whole thing, including the gradients, with Illustrator and bring it in as a single complete image, or as a comp with layers. I'd take this latter route myself.

Kalleheikki Kannisto
Senior Graphic Designer

Return to posts index

Alex DickmannRe: Multiple Alpha Mattes to Create Checkerboard-type Pattern
by on Sep 19, 2016 at 2:31:21 am