ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Coffee Beans Animation

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Jason BrownCoffee Beans Animation
by on Aug 30, 2016 at 4:34:37 pm

I have/had an animation idea in my head of the coffee beans in my set up to fall into the pot and be moved around by the spinner.

My initial thinking was trapcode to generate the coffee beans (which works well) and then combine this with Newton2 for the rotating bars to move the beans around.

I think I've been a tad too ambitious and now I'm stuck on how to pull this off and whether its even possible.

Anybody have any suggestions to create this type of physics, if not just any feedback so I can learn for next time. I'm a beginner and just going through my projects and trying to solve problems as approach them in order to learn.

Thanks

Return to posts index

Michael SzalapskiRe: Coffee Beans Animation
by on Aug 30, 2016 at 7:19:33 pm

You could use use the Physics>Bounce in Particular to get the arms to move the beans, but they won't stay in the grinder...

This may be beyond AE's abilities.

This would be fairly simple to do in Cinema 4D Studio (or whatever versions have the rigid body physics).

- The Great Szalam
(The 'Great' stands for 'Not So Great, in fact, Extremely Humble')

No trees were harmed in the creation of this message, but several thousand electrons were mildly inconvenienced.

Return to posts index

Jason BrownRe: Coffee Beans Animation
by on Aug 31, 2016 at 3:02:37 pm

Hi,

Could you provide the method for using the bounce feature in particular please? I had a quick go myself setting the floor layer to 'RoasterBottom' but it didn't seem to have any effect.