ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Keyframing color not working??

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Alex Murik
Keyframing color not working??
on Aug 23, 2016 at 2:07:36 pm

I've been trying to follow this tutorial:

But when they get to the part about keyframing color in order to change it, as soon as I tick the little stopwatch icon and change the color, it edits it for the whole animation. No matter what I do, I can't get it to start changing color only at that keyframe and not for the whole thing. I started learning AE today and I've hit a serious bump! Please help! I'm using AE CS6 if it helps.

Return to posts index

Tero Ahlfors
Re: Keyframing color not working??
on Aug 23, 2016 at 4:06:49 pm

Where's the part where they are keyframing color? I'm not watching the whole thing.

Return to posts index

Jordan Murik
on Aug 23, 2016 at 4:41:26 pm

Quoting isn't working for me, but it's around 3 minutes and 40 seconds.

Also, I'll try that... Sorry, I'm new to this and as a result, really stupid. But when I try, it wipes out all the little green and blue bars that already exist and make a new, little green bar. I'm not sure how to describe it, but it's weird... Also, Color is ticked throughout the entire thing when I tick the stopwatch icon next to "Color" in Effect Controls. Is this normal?

Return to posts index

Michael Szalapski
on Aug 23, 2016 at 4:19:29 pm

It sounds like you're only making one keyframe. If you enable keyframing and then start changing the color on the only keyframe, of COURSE it'll change it for the whole video...

- The Great Szalam
(The 'Great' stands for 'Not So Great, in fact, Extremely Humble')

No trees were harmed in the creation of this message, but several thousand electrons were mildly inconvenienced.

Return to posts index

Jordan Murik
on Aug 23, 2016 at 4:44:27 pm