ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Render time is EXTREMELY slow! What to do???

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Jake StevensRender time is EXTREMELY slow! What to do???
by on Aug 16, 2016 at 1:07:54 pm

I'm brand new to After Effects.

When rendering rendering times seems EXCESSivELY long to me.
For example, I render a 4 second clip (Full HD - 30fps - Quicktime H.264, 44.1k audio) and the render tales 12 minutes to complete.

Even if I reduce to output quality to 85% it does not help at all!

For me this seems to be ridiculous for A.E. to need 12 minutes to render 4 seconds of video. So I imagine if
i render a 15 minute clip it will take 2 - 3 days to render???

I'm hoping there are some very experienced After Effects exports out there who can help me set up A.E. so that render times are SIGNIFICANTLY reduced??? Or is this just the way it is and there's nothing I can do about this issue.

Thanks to all who reply!

iMac 27", i7, 4.0GHZ, 5K Retina, 32GB Ram, 512 SDD, 4TB Ext. HD, Final Cut Pro 10.2.3, After Effects CC v13.8.0.144 (2015.3 release)

Return to posts index

Daniel WaldronRe: Render time is EXTREMELY slow! What to do???
by on Aug 16, 2016 at 1:23:36 pm

What effects do you have in your composition?

Return to posts index

Jake StevensRe: Render time is EXTREMELY slow! What to do???
by on Aug 16, 2016 at 1:36:53 pm

I have not added any effects to the composition.

I simply opened a template that I bought from VideoHive and made a couple text edits, added (2) very short video click to (2) placeholders and then rendered.

That's all I've done.

iMac 27", i7, 4.0GHZ, 5K Retina, 32GB Ram, 512 SDD, 4TB Ext. HD, Final Cut Pro 10.2.3, After Effects CC v13.8.0.144 (2015.3 release)

Return to posts index

Dave LaRondeRe: Render time is EXTREMELY slow! What to do???
by on Aug 16, 2016 at 4:03:34 pm

There's no telling what's happening.