ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Podcasts Creative Cloud

Animating Formations

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Fritz O'BrienAnimating Formations
by on Aug 13, 2016 at 10:25:28 am

G'day guys.
I'm trying to create really basic animations to explain Hoplite phalanxes (I'm a History teacher).
I'm looking for technique suggestions for how to:
  • Have individual shapes form into a larger shape (like particle playground can fill a shape, but less random- i want distinct individual shapes acting in formation rather than randomly overlapping and filling a shape).
  • Have some shapes "Die" and then have the shapes behind file forward to replace it (maybe some form of directional gravity?)
  • Have the formation Bow and bend- once again, the way I've seen particle playground do it is to completely disintegrate and reform, rather than just shift to fill a new shape).
  • Have the formation "Break and run".

This video has something like what I want to build in the bottom left corner (formation reforming after casualties etc)

I don't really have the vocabulary to describe what I'm wanting to achieve in after effects terms so vocab terms will be a big help.
I understand I'm asking a lot here so any help at all is appreciated :)

Return to posts index

Kalle KannistoRe: Animating Formations
by on Aug 13, 2016 at 3:53:14 pm