ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Trying to understand AE concepts

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Todd Soaper
Trying to understand AE concepts
on Jul 27, 2016 at 3:45:52 pm

I am new to AE and I have followed this tutorial:

https://www.lynda.com/After-Effects-tutorials/VFX-Techniques-Building-Repla...

I was able to duplicate the training on my own, and was able to track points and attach items to a building in the footage, which is pretty cool.

However, I still don't understand some of the core concepts in AE. For example:

To do camera tracking, you do this:

1 - Animate->Track Camera
2 - Analyze/Solve
3 - Create Camera

The last step creates a new layer in the current composition called "3D Tracker Camera". I have no idea what this layer does, or what possibilities it provides me. Why did this layer get created? And although this layer is created from within the Effect Controls panel, the panel is not displayed when the 3D Tracker Camera layer is active!

I feel like I am going through the motions in AE w/o really knowing what's going on.

Thanks in advance for your comments, answers and guidance.

Return to posts index

Daniel Waldron
Re: Trying to understand AE concepts
on Jul 27, 2016 at 4:33:27 pm

That's a pretty advanced tutorial for an AE beginner ;)

The 3D camera tracker replicates the camera movement in your footage and creates a new camera in After Effects. This is the layer you are seeing. It won't appear to do anything until you add a 3D layer into your scene. Then the layer will react to the After Effects camera like it is a part of the scene. I would definitely go over the basics of AE before trying to attempt something like this. Though a little dated, I think Video CoPilot's Basic Training is a good place to start.

Return to posts index

Todd Soaper
on Jul 27, 2016 at 4:52:28 pm