ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Replacing Illustrator CS6 files in AE CC 2015

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Anthony Rondinone
Replacing Illustrator CS6 files in AE CC 2015
on Jul 19, 2016 at 8:21:55 pm

Hi all, I'm new to this so I appreciate the help!

I have an AE CS6 project file which contained Illustrator CS6 files. I changed computers and also went from CS6 to CC 2015.
I just opened the AF Project in CC 2015 and went to replace the Illustrator footage and it wont import after I locate the files. I just get the spinning wheel forever. Does it just take incredibly long? I have 250 files missing.
Would this possibly be fixed if I went back to using Illustrator CS6 instead of cc 2015? Or is it an after effects cc 2015 problem? Or is it because the files are cs6? any help is appreciated!

Return to posts index

Walter Soyka
Re: Replacing Illustrator CS6 files in AE CC 2015
on Jul 20, 2016 at 3:12:05 pm

None of what you're describing should be a problem.

Maybe there's a problem with a specific file? Can you import them from scratch into a new project, or does that fail, too?

Walter Soyka
Designer & Mad Scientist at Keen Live [link]
Motion Graphics, Widescreen Events, Presentation Design, and Consulting
@keenlive [twitter]   |   RenderBreak [blog]   |   Profile [LinkedIn]

Return to posts index

Anthony Rondinone
on Jul 20, 2016 at 3:23:57 pm

I agree, that's what I don't understand.
I can import them into a new project, I can even import them into the same project. The problem I'm having is "replace footage" to find the files since they are in a new location. I just get the spinning wheel for ever when i try to replace footage after I find it in the new location. Is it possible that it just takes that long to replace all 250 files? I let it spin for over a half hour hoping it was just taking a long time.