ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

After Effects- Assembled PC or Mac Pro- Need advice please!

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Kshitij MehraAfter Effects- Assembled PC or Mac Pro- Need advice please!
by on Jun 14, 2016 at 11:47:22 pm

Hi All,

I know there are multiple posts floating around on the same subject, but I needed some serious advice. I am a freelance video editor and I also do motion graphics on after effects. I'm currently using a MacBook Pro 16gb Corei7 with intel HD graphics.

I use after effects a lot and most of the times I face issues like my GPU not being supportive enough to work with various third party plugins on after effects like optical flares, Element 3D and others or RAM getting maxed out specially when I'm working on AE with resolutions of 4K and above..

I have been thinking of upgrading to a newer system but I really can't decide between an assembled PC or spending money on the Mac pro..

So far, what I've read about the Mac pro is that to get fast render previews, it's better to go in for a quad core or a 6-core with lots of RAM, say upto 64GB. I also read somewhere that After effects and FCPX won't be able to take advantage of more than 64GBs of RAM and even 64Gb would be an over-kill.. Also, I'm not sure how the D700s work with AE and GPU oriented plugins and if AE will be able to make use of the 6 cores in the Mac pro to give faster previews and renders.. Also, I love the OSX eco-system.. I would shift to a PC only if it helps me with far better performance at a cheaper cost..

The other option is to go in for a Core i7 5960x which supposedly is almost equally fast as a Xeon e5.... In this case, I was thinking of getting a good Nvidia graphic card so as to make plugins work smoothly and get rid of errors that keep popping up either due to lesser RAM or a beaten up GPU...