ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Podcasts Creative Cloud

How can I create an animation of a fim strip unwinding ?

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Yonatan LehmanHow can I create an animation of a fim strip unwinding ?
by on Dec 28, 2015 at 9:56:40 pm

I'm new to AE and new to this forum.
I have spent ages to create this effect, I did it in the end, but I'm wondering if it could have been done easier and faster.
The idea is to have an animation of a "film strip" unrolling itself and making the shape of the hebrew letter "lamed"

See the first ten seconds of

I'm using AE 7.0 - I think that later versions of AE make what I want to do easier - but my question is how to do this most efficiently with AE 7.0

What I did was:
1) took a picture of a real film strip in the shape and angle I wanted to get a "3D" effect
2) imported the image into AE to use as a guide
3) create a layer (L1) and draw a mask (and associated fill and stroke) of the first frame in the film strip
4) Add keyframes every 2 frames - each time moving the edges of the mask to coorespond to the next frame in the film strip

So what I have till now is a single frame that travels along the path of the film strip, changing it's shape as it goes along.

Now I wanted to show the film strip unwinding (NOT just reveal a static image)

The idea was that I could duplicate L1 49 times, with all the keyframes of L(i) being two frames after the associated keyframe in layer L(i-1).

L4 : < K1 K2 K3 K4 K5 K6 ...K46>
L3 : < K1 K2 K3 K4 K5 K6 ....K47>
L2 : < K1 K2 K3 K4 K5 K6 .......K48>
L1 : < K1 K2 K3 K4 K5 K6 ........ K49>

I thought I could do this using an expression that defines the shape of the mask on one layer as a function of the shape of a previoud layer as a function of time. The problem was that AE 7.0 does not allow the mask shape to be animated with an expression.

What I did was
1) duplicate L1 to L2