ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Element 3D After Effects Lighting

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Patrick Hough
Element 3D After Effects Lighting
on Aug 5, 2015 at 7:58:11 pm

I am fairly new to After Effects and am using it to do some basic 3D animation with the Element 3D plugin. I have loaded my 3D object into After Effects but it doesn't seem to be effected by lights. Only the ambient light setting seems to work. When I make the solid layer with the Element 3D object into a 3D layer the lights appear but this means my camera layer doesn't function properly as when I orbit around the 3D object it distorts and disappears when viewed from the side. I have watched several tutorials for Element 3D and none of them mention needing to make the layer a 3D layer to have lights affect the object so I am wondering if its maybe a setting in after effects that I havent used?

Any help would be fantastic.

Return to posts index

Kalle Kannisto
Re: Element 3D After Effects Lighting
on Aug 13, 2015 at 8:18:02 am

Element is a 3D effect on a 2D layer, you don't make the layer itself a 3D layer.

One setting that affects the AE lights in Element is the "Lighting influence" in the Element environment settings. The default setting is 25%, if you want the lighting to affect the scene more (in relation to the Element environment), up this value.

Return to posts index

Marina Plotzki
on Sep 23, 2016 at 10:53:08 pm

Hello, i have the EXACT SAME PROBLEM. Did you ever find a solution to this problem?

Return to posts index

Kalleheikki Kannisto
on Sep 24, 2016 at 7:16:48 am

If only ambient lights work after you do the above, your video card is probably not a supported for Element. See this list:

https://docs.google.com/document/d/1kqQP_Okzn_PEJsn0_CstMJUKyXw3VUJPz9-zX85...

Kalleheikki Kannisto
Senior Graphic Designer

Return to posts index

Marina Plotzki
on Sep 26, 2016 at 2:57:40 pm