ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Podcasts Creative Cloud

Very specific "passing through a warp" effect

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Jakob FletcherVery specific "passing through a warp" effect
by on Feb 2, 2015 at 5:24:52 pm

Hello everyone,

I'm very glad to have found this forum, and hope someone will be able to help me out at least a little. I'm trying to create an effect very similar to the one in this video:

The effect occurs between 0:05 - 0:14.

Now I'm very new to After Effects, having used it for only two days. However, having seen some YouTube videos and reading on the net I managed to learn a thing or two. Using a displacement map I managed to create a pretty good looking "warp", somewhat similar like in the video. What I can't figure out though is how to make the person pass through the warp, making it look similar like in the video.

What I did was, I created the displacement (warp) on a clean plate, and then added a separate layer with the person slowly walking a few steps at that position. Now trying to fuse these two layers together and get a good effect is turning out to be quite difficult. I love the effect of the person having a liquidy texture, bending/displacing the warp itself so to speak, and then after he fully appears, the warp behind him disappears through a shockwave.

I don't have a green screen, so I guess the most important question is, is it possible at all to do it without a green screen?

If anyone can help me figure this out, I'd be very thankful.

Return to posts index

Jakob FletcherRe: Very specific "passing through a warp" effect
by on Feb 11, 2015 at 11:19:48 pm

Alright, no one has responded, but for those who are interested, here's an update on the situation. So far I've come up with the perfect warp (without the actor going through), and I achieved this beautiful effect by using CC Glass.