ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

What's a good workflow for motion graphics?

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Santita Dwi PutriWhat's a good workflow for motion graphics?
by on Apr 11, 2014 at 7:03:24 pm

Hey everyone,

I'm very new to animation, and currently self-training in several Adobe programs.

A lot of my projects are motion graphics mixed with video to visualize an audio presentation (think BuzzFeed motion graphics). So far, I've solely been using Premiere to do everything because it's very simple to line up & playback the audio as I organize the shots & graphics.

However, I think it goes without saying that my work would've been better done in AE. But I'm confused as to what the best workflow is for this.

Should I edit the audio and video (if it includes video) in Premiere and then Dynamic Link to AE to add motion graphics? Or should I use the Import Project to AE?

Or, should I stick with AE entirely and line up my audio & video files within AE?

Thank you so much for all of your help!

Return to posts index

Neil MogerRe: What's a good workflow for motion graphics?
by on Apr 13, 2014 at 8:33:17 pm

Hey Santita,

For me that would depend on the project; if its basically a video edit with some motion graphics, then Premiere with Dynamic Link to AE is perfect - I find managing and editing assets in AE really painful... if its mainly AE comps then you could assemble and export directly in AE...

I guess it depends to what extent your storyboard is fixed - and to what extent you need some editing flexibility...

Return to posts index

Stephen SmithRe: What's a good workflow for motion graphics?
by on Apr 14, 2014 at 3:14:32 pm