ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Podcasts Creative Cloud

Serious career advise for a newb

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
linh tranSerious career advise for a newb
by on Sep 5, 2013 at 2:47:23 pm

Hello everyone, Im 18 years old and this is my first year in uni. i have been interested in after effects and 3d animation programs such as 3D Modelling,motion graphics. i want to become sort of like a freelancer .my question is that is it actually possible to become an expert in such programs with the resources and tutorials found online and ultimately make a living out of it. i understand it is very difficult and it will require a huge mount of self-learning time which im already willing to do. i would like those experts out there to give me real and hornest opinion about this. thank you and sorry for my bad english (im an asian).

Return to posts index

mathew fullerRe: Serious career advise for a newb
by on Sep 5, 2013 at 6:57:28 pm

Here's my pointers.

Get a subscription to It has organized courses rather than just random tutorials from everything AE, 3ds max, Maya etc..

Don't get overwhelmed. Pick a software like AE or a 3D package and stick with it. You won't know what every button/effect/setting does for quite some time. But you don't need to. Basically just don't get intimidated. I have been using 3d Max since 1999, and I still haven't learned everything it can do. I learn it as I need it, and my knowledge base goes up.

I have been making a living as a VFX artist and designer for 14 years. It takes time to get going, but it's well worth it.

I worked as a the VFX lead at a post house for 5 years before leaving (on good terms) 3 years ago. Only now am I able to freelance from home... it takes contacts and time.

Worry about getting jobs later... just hunker down, and do the tutorials.