ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Buying and using infographic templates, acceptable or frowned upon?

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Wil Colquhoun
Buying and using infographic templates, acceptable or frowned upon?
on Apr 13, 2013 at 6:47:22 pm

I've been considering buying this template for a while :

https://www.fluxvfx.com/templates/infographics-after-effects-template/

I'm a second year student and thought it would be a nice addition for whenever I need to overlay some quick infographics on any of my pieces. From you industry designers, is it frowned upon? I want to know if its a big no no before I go and invest! (obviously i'd use my own infographics if it was a solely infographic based piece.)

Cheers,

Wil.

Return to posts index

Joey Trimmer
Re: Buying and using infographic templates, acceptable or frowned upon?
on Apr 13, 2013 at 7:28:44 pm

Hi Will!

If it's something you need and you need it fast, I don't see the problem with it. Is purchasing stock video or graphics bad? How about scripts that expedite things you already know? The only thing I could see wrong with it is if it's taking a shortcut because you're unable to do it, you're probably losing out on an educational opportunity. Also, if it's not in your style or it's quite obvious it's just stock it doesn't have that touch that may be unique to you. But if it's helpful and you can make it your own who cares.

Return to posts index

Wil Colquhoun
on Apr 13, 2013 at 7:39:26 pm

Hi Joey!

Perfect response! That's exactly what I was thinking, if it's the fact that i'm being lazy then its definitely a No, but i'm thinking it would be handy to have there even for quick presentations e.t.c. My only concern is say, if I was applying for internships and someone spotted some customised stock in any of my pieces I wouldn't want them instantly slotting me down as a no because of it! Does that make sense?