ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Podcasts Creative Cloud

how do I do this?

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
James Whitehow do I do this?
by on Feb 15, 2013 at 3:49:12 pm

i will try to explain what i am trying to do and it would be great if you guys could help me out, but please bear with me because i am new to this.

i want to shoot a video of a lined paper with some characters on it, something like this:

but i want the characters to seem to "come" to life from the paper, so i simply want them to jump out from the paper to real life.

the only problem is i am not sure how to do this and i cant draw to save my life!

the idea i have about doing this is maybe find a picture of character online then trace it in photoshop with the pen tool, (but i dont know how to animate it)

and then shoot a the video of an empty lined paper then use a motion tracker and after affects to composite, but i really don't know where to start from.

could you please give me some ideas? what should i start learning and where to learn it from?

thank you

PS: i have Adobe photoshop, flash, after effects, premiere, Illustrator plus Autodesk Softimage, 3ds max and maya.

Return to posts index

Joseph W. BourkeRe: how do I do this?
by on Feb 16, 2013 at 4:28:34 pm

James -

You could definitely do all of this is a combination of Illustrator, Photoshop, and After Effects, but if your experience is that limited, and you can't draw, you're asking for a world of frustration.

You can license a cartoon image at any number of websites - don't just grab it off the web - you're stealing someone else's hard work - unless they implicitely state that it's copyright free (not likely).

If you're up for it, an investment in CrazyTalk Animator: