ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Motion Graphics / Lower Thirds Graphic FPS Question

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Josh Dekay
Motion Graphics / Lower Thirds Graphic FPS Question
on Nov 10, 2014 at 6:45:30 pm

Hello,

I'm a UI designer and have been getting into some motion graphics and video work.

I'm going to be creating an animated lower thirds graphic in After Effects. The footage that it will overlay is 24fps. I'm concerned that the motion graphics will not be smooth at this rate.

What is the standard approach for getting smooth motion graphics over video that is 24fps?

Should I create the graphics at 24 fps or higher?

Thanks!
-J

PS - The current plan is that my coworker will make the edits in Final Cut. He then plans to integrate my motion graphics. The other option is that I can take is edit from Final Cut, and then integrate my motion graphics via Premier Pro.

Return to posts index

Dave LaRonde
Re: Motion Graphics / Lower Thirds Graphic FPS Question
on Nov 10, 2014 at 7:01:48 pm

If you need to deliver 24fps, you'll need to work at 24fps. Phenomena such as judder occur more frequently at such lower frame rates.

It won't do any good to work at a higher frame rate, because eventually you'll end up at 24fps... back at Square One.

Motion Blur can help, but you'll have to keep a close eye on the speed of the motion.

Dave LaRonde
Promotion Producer
KGAN (CBS) & KFXA (Fox) Cedar Rapids, IA

Return to posts index

Josh Dekay
on Nov 10, 2014 at 7:06:34 pm

Thank you Dave, that's what I was thinking.

I have a couple more questions that you might also be able to help with.

1. How is broadcast usually handled? Say a show in HGTV or Travel Channel that features a vacationing spot? Is that usually shot in 24 or 30 these days?