ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

I apologize in advance

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Steve urquelI apologize in advance
by on Dec 22, 2011 at 3:35:58 pm

Hi I'm Steve,

I'm new in every sense of the word. New to Creative Cow, new to the industry and new to pretty much every program that I'm working with. If this is in the wrong forum please direct me to where I should be writing this.

I am knowledgeable but not quite professional in Final Cut Pro, After Effects, Photoshop, and Illustrator. I am just starting to use Cinema 4D. My ultimate goal is to become an Editor but I'm wondering if there are other programs I need to learn or just a overall description of what an editor is expected to know vs. what is realistic.

Also, if someone could help breakdown which programs or which type of programs were used in this video and let me know if I would be expected to know how to do everything in it as an Editor. At the moment it's really overwhelming and any help is completely appreciated.

Thank you so much.

Return to posts index

Michael SzalapskiRe: I apologize in advance
by on Dec 22, 2011 at 5:30:24 pm

What you are expected to do will vary wildly from job to job. Some jobs may want you to just edit. Some may want you to just work on producing materials to be used in Cinema4D. Some may want you to just focus on animating in After Effects. Some will want you to do capturing, editing, and compressing the final output as well as having a working knowledge of AE...

I could go on and on, but I only have so much time before the render I'm waiting for is done. :)