ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Podcasts Creative Cloud

infinite pasteboard & squiggly stick figures

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Bob Coleinfinite pasteboard & squiggly stick figures
by on Mar 25, 2011 at 11:40:36 pm

Please forgive the simple questions. I'm primarily a live action producer, but there are two motion graphics techniques which I'd like to explore, for a personal project which has a budget of "me." Please help me get off the ground.

1. the "infinite pasteboard" The first scene evolves into the second scene, either through a zoom or a move, without ever cutting or dissolving. It is as though the pasteboard is many thousands of pixels wide and high, which I know is not the case. There are many variations on this, and while I think I have figured out some of them (the zooms, which must use nested comps), I haven't cracked the code on the moves, especially where a design element (e.g., a line that connects boxes) continues throughout the animation.

2. I'd like to start making primitive animations with stick figures, and would like to know how to make them "squiggly." This effect emulates primitive cel animation, showing slight, random movements in the stick figures, giving them a little bit more life even when they're not doing much of anything.

The only motion graphics program I know is After Effects, and it doesn't seem to be appropriate for this animation style. Or is it?

Bob C

Return to posts index

Michael SzalapskiRe: infinite pasteboard & squiggly stick figures
by on Mar 28, 2011 at 2:11:46 pm

1. There's no reason the elements in a composition wouldn't cover thousands of pixels in x and y.