ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Podcasts Creative Cloud

resources to learn watercolor animation?

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Kell Smithresources to learn watercolor animation?
by on Feb 15, 2011 at 5:28:57 am

I've recently become interested in this and would like to learn more about how to do it. The things I have at hand are
1) an older version of AE (6.5) which I am just starting to learn
2) CS3
3) Older version of Final Cut Studio with Motion
4) actual watercolor =)

I'm interested in doing the watercolor effect - not just on video already shot, although that's one possibility, but with drawings that morph and change, etc. Or perhaps a combination.
I am also very interested in how to do the 3d effect you sometimes see in montages, not only with watercolor, but with video as well.
I'm not in a position right now to spend any money on software, plug-ins, etc.
Can anyone suggest a starting point, an approach, a process, resources to check out, etc? I can visualize projects, but don't know how to get from here to there.
Thanks very much.

Return to posts index

Walter SoykaRe: resources to learn watercolor animation?
by on Feb 15, 2011 at 5:45:54 pm

Can you post a link to a reference video showing the effect you're looking to achieve?

Walter Soyka
Principal & Designer at Keen Live
Motion Graphics, Widescreen Events, Presentation Design, and Consulting
RenderBreak Blog - What I'm thinking when my workstation's thinking
Creative Cow Forum Host: Live & Stage Events

Return to posts index

Kell SmithRe: resources to learn watercolor animation?
by on Feb 15, 2011 at 6:34:45 pm

Oops - looks like I can't post the link here.
I"ll try to find another example and post it.

Return to posts index

Mark SuszkoRe: resources to learn watercolor animation?
by on Feb 15, 2011 at 7:43:27 pm