ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Question(s) about hiring a motion graphics artist

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
David Distinti
Question(s) about hiring a motion graphics artist
on Jan 3, 2011 at 3:58:24 pm

Hey,

I'm an independent producer who's looking for a motion graphics artist to build a look for a TV pilot that we've shot and is just
about edited. We just need a graphics package.

What can I expect to pay for an artist's time? I assume it's a per hour fee? I appreciate the effort it takes to design and build such graphics, however we don't have much in the way of a budget. What is a reasonable rate and where I can turn to find a possible candidate?

These are the elements I need:
1. 10 sec. animated open
2. loopable background animation
3. Animated Lower Third
4. Topic Bar that reveals
5. Cold Open Tease animation the reveals and loops
6. x2 aninmated wipes with show logo
7. Tease bed animation
8. a generic segment wipe I can alter, say an AE file, based on my needs.
9. Animated 3D show logo.

Any input would be greatfully appreciated.

Thanks,
Dave

Return to posts index

Joseph W. Bourke
Re: Question(s) about hiring a motion graphics artist
on Jan 4, 2011 at 2:39:20 pm

Hi Dave -

As Art Director for fourteen years at an ABC affiliate, I've done dozens of these packages, for everything from magazine format daily show packages, to a complete broadcast news package, which had basically your list plus a dozen or so "franchise" opens (weather, sports, health, etc.).

From the freelancer's side (I now do this as my own company), the smartest way to quote on these projects is to give a range. Something always gets added, and production values always tend to be pushed up. For example, your 10 second open would most likely by a combination of 3D elements and 2D composites, and since that's your money-maker, it had better be killer, which means more time.