ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Podcasts Creative Cloud

higher education

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
James Carrocciohigher education
by on Sep 6, 2010 at 1:34:01 am

hey guys,

I am a local camera op/Studio Tech for a TV station.

As conventional media production goes automated, robotic, and even Virtual, i find myself in need of returning to school and becoming way more tech savvy (i.e explore the 3d animation and graphic design realm)

I received my AA in Motion Picture/TV production.

If anyone can give me some advice on which educational route i should take that will strengthen my skills as well as merge ME into a new technical Arena that will allow me to fully understand Visual Effects, digital compositing, Motion Capture, and so forth.

Thanks in advance for any words of wisdom.

Camera Operator/Production Tech

Return to posts index

Jason MyresRe: higher education
by on Sep 8, 2010 at 7:38:54 pm

[James Carroccio] "allow me to fully understand Visual Effects, digital compositing, Motion Capture, and so forth."

Each of those could easily occupy an entire career. While everyone overlaps a bit depending on what they are interested in, I would try to focus on becoming very proficient with the software you enjoy using most, and then supplement that with other packages that compliment it. There are a few different paths you can take, but this is how I generally think of it:

Motion Design -> After Effects, Motion or Combustion, plus Photoshop, Illustrator, Cinema 4D.
Compositing & VFX -> Nuke, Fusion, or Shake. Maya 2011 w/ Composite also overlaps here.
3D Modeling & Animation -> Maya, Cinema 4D, 3ds Max, Houdini, Blender, Lightwave.