ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Podcasts Creative Cloud

Pursuing Motion Graphics as a Career

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Emily ScollonPursuing Motion Graphics as a Career
by on Oct 30, 2009 at 4:41:51 pm

I currently work as a mostly digital artist. I color storyboards, and have an illustration background. I started with Cinema 4d and recently started with After Effects, and love it. I think it is where I want my career to go, but would love user opinions on how to get there.

Obviously there is no blanket answer, my main question is, should i do some sort of certification program, teach myself, or get a masters degree? I'm frowning on the masters, as it costs a boat load of $$ and I'm not convinced the job would pay enough to make it worth it. Though it would be a blast and I would learn a lot (i'm not as design savvy as I would like to be, what I know is innate and through a BFA degree). Are there any online schools that are recommended?

Any comments/suggestinos are appreciated.

Return to posts index

Eric WoodsRe: Pursuing Motion Graphics as a Career
by on Nov 3, 2009 at 6:21:59 pm

I would agree that going the route of a Masters Degree would not benefit you. School's are a great way to learn broad Design concepts and techniques, but they lack real world application. Your best bet in trying to enter this field is a multiple part answer.
1. An internship is a very useful way to see exactly how a company works. You'll most likely not get paid, but what you will leave with will be invaluable compared to what you'll learn from paying for an extra few years of college. You will also leave with a better understanding of the workflow, business, and hierarchy of a company. The contacts you meet will be vital and so will the Resume addition. Some places require you to be in school, but not all do.