ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Chyron Operator

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Matt Stevens
Chyron Operator
on Mar 21, 2006 at 10:47:12 pm

I'm looking to get into the broadcasting industry. I want to become a graphics operator running the Chyron. Any suggestions on the best way to get into the industry? My background is motion graphics, and animation.

Return to posts index

Tom Meegan
Re: Chyron Operator
on Mar 24, 2006 at 9:16:16 pm

Operators usaully work in a live environment. If you haven't done live TV, find a way in through connections and phone calls. Do you want to do news, sports or entertainment?

Designers on these systems also need to have a good understanding of how graphics are updated live, to make the disk work for operators.

Learn Duet, VizRT, and DEKO. Infinit!s are also still in many studios and trucks. Contact the manufacturers and be prepared to pay for training. Not sure what system is most common near you. There could be opportunity if you learn a system that is in your market, but not many people know. Solid knowledge of the box will help you over your inexperience in a live environment.

Tom

Return to posts index

Joseph W. Bourke
on Mar 28, 2006 at 2:54:28 pm

Matt -
From the sounds of it, you're already overqualified to be a Chyron operator. I'm Art Director at a broadcast station (ABC affiliate in Manchester, NH), and we are constantly hiring and losing graphics people. What we look at when we interview for the position is a good grasp of design, type, and a knowledge of software. In other words, if you can pilot Photoshop, After Effects, Combustion, Illustrator, or a number of other complex software packages, and your portfolio looks pretty good, you're in.