ADOBE AFTER EFFECTS: Forum Expressions Tutorials Creative Cloud

Exporting Settings for Multiple applications

COW Forums : Adobe After Effects

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Stellita Loukas
Exporting Settings for Multiple applications
on Mar 17, 2016 at 7:48:23 pm

Hello everyone!

I am very new to the world of animaiton/video creation/After Effects and I would be extremely grateful for your help.

I am currently creating a number of video tutorials and my workflow is a tad complicated due to CPU/computer-power restrictions. Since each video is around 15min long, I break it into smaller chunks (1 AE Project for each chunk basically) so that I can manage it more easily on the 2009 MBP (Dual Core - 8GB RAM) I am using.

1. I record the screen via Screenflow and then export the screen capture to a .mov file using the Apple Lossless 422(HQ) codec.
2. I then import this into my After Effects project (1920x1080) where I add the animations etc and then I export the whole thing into yet another .mov file, again using the Apple Lossless 422 (HQ) format. The frame rate is 30 fps @ both Screenflow and After Effects.
3. Then, since I don't have Adobe Premiere or any other video edting software, I use Screenflow to piece all the segments of the video (usually around 15min in total) together and export it yet again as a .mov file using the Apple 422(HQ) codec.
4. Finally, I use Media Encoder to encode the whole thing into a YouTube-acceptable mp4 file with the H264 codec.

As you can understand, the screen capture I do at step 1 goes through a WHOLE lot of encodings and the end result is rather low in quality. I had tried using the Animation encoding option up until step 3 but this resulted into 60GB+ Screenflow project files and it become a tad unmanageable.